Tuesday, April 20, 2010

save the music!

okay, so maybe "save the music" refers more to bringing music to schools whose music programs have gone down the tubes, but I think in a very dramatic sense, it can relate to the music industry as well.

sure, there's loads of great music swimming around out there. the local scene is becoming even more popular too. what used to be reserved for the "indie/hipster" kids (I don't even know which is which, so I'm obviously not really either) has now become THE place to be for anyone who wants new music or wants to be a close part of the music industry without shelling out $100 for a concert ticket (not to mention the CD you'll buy there, and the t-shirt, and the gas, and the parking, and the ... whatever else: booty shorts?). for ten bucks (often less than that), anyone can go to a little local show for a local metal/hardcore/posthardcore/pop/pop-punk/punk/alternative/[insert other genre here...] band. this awesome opportunity isn't guaranteed to be a great one aurally, but let me tell you, supporting these local gigs is what is going to save the industry.

at local shows, it's kids trying to make it big, but they know that without a label behind them, they're not gonna go anywhere unless they're original. without originality, the "scene" is going to write the band of as either posers or wannabes, which DO exist, but they're not common. it's at these shows that music is taken back to its roots and what it should be: pure and untarnished. it's about music and people. not money (although, they do need gas money every once in a while).

the music industry and its cronies are caught up in their own egos. they produce what will make money with little regard to what is actually talent because they're the ones who "know what they're doing".

I say "whatever". it's the local cats who are doing it right. support them instead.

Thursday, April 15, 2010

you're proving my point, Miley

As previously stated, my whole goal with this blog is to establish a clear thought on whether the present music industry is capable of handling the awe that is associated with bands like Queen, the Beatles, and (as much as it pains me to say it,) Metallica.

Exhibit A:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxbFLYa0_bw


"Somebody To Love", Queen c. 1976

I mean, seriously. How can you even begin to compare an undisputed music great like Queen with today's latest trash?

The simple answer? You can't.
The industry today, like everyone else in the entire world, doesn't know that it's okay to slow down. They push for shorter deadlines in order to get CDs on the shelves (= money in their pockets). In doing so, they run out of bands ready to produce good music, and resort to anyone who has a: pretty face/"mom-/dad-ager"/no shame/money already/an overly inflated ego, etc., etc. The list goes on! Thus, we get garbage like Nickelback, The Jonas Brothers, and Miley Cyrus.
Now, this isn't to say that I don't like ANYTHING by ANY of the artists who are in similar positions. In fact, there are one or two Nickelback songs that I listen to frequently (though they are from their early years when their one song was new and they hadn't re-done it for four albums and just changed the lyrics...). But I digress...

Basically, the rushed studio time (which I believe is exacerbated by the accessibility of music: iTunes-->search-->click-->done) leads to shoddy workmanship.

What do you think? Does the music industry allow true talent (which takes time) to fall to the wayside in order to keep up with the demands of listeners everywhere?


Forthcoming topics:
-> end of "Rock Gods"?
-> vinyl vs mp3
-> how exactly does one "nod their head like 'yeah'"?

peace.
kateschutte

NOTICE:

all posts prior to this one are irrelevant to the assignment at hand.

on a darker note,
THE MUSIC INDUSTRY IS DEAD.

unless of course you consider Miley Cyrus/Hannah Montana/whoever she is today and the Jonas Brothers "music".

more on this devastating realization to come...

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

it's sad...

that I have to be assigned to blog to actually update this.
hm.
the worst part is I don't know what I'm going to actually blog about. this obviously doesn't count. I just don't have the focus to blog anything of substance. gr. ohwell. I'll get around to it.

Sunday, December 6, 2009

myspace link for News From Verona:

I just realized that I've now posted two lengthy blogs about News From Verona, but haven't provided any information on how to listen to them online, but I'll provide it now!

MySpace:
http://www.myspace.com/newsfromverona

Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#/pages/News-from-Verona/54999791652?ref=ts

Twitter:
http://twitter.com/newsfromverona

PureVolume:
http://www.purevolume.com/newsfromverona

If I think of anymore I'll update this.

peace.
kateschutte

on News From Verona... again.

so, I spent a good majority of my last post talking about News From Verona. I saw their show last night, and it was, hands down, the best show I've seen in a while.

The last few shows of theirs that I've seen have been all-acoustic since their drummer (Dan) was out in VA at school. Last night's show blew those (and most of the others I've seen) out of the water. Don't get me wrong, I LOVED their acoustic sets, but there's just so much more energy when Dan's back in town. Plus, they've got their friend Tyler playing keys with them to make their live set more like the album and he brings an unreal amount of energy to the show too. There is no doubt that that renewed and added energy made their set so much better. I thought at first that maybe I was a little biased since I am friends with all these guys and, naturally, I missed seeing Dan so just seeing him made me automatically think the show was great. However, after sitting by their table after their set, I heard multiple people at the show (fans, newcomers, friends, etc.) come up and say something to the effect of "wow, you guys were really great tonight!"

Everything that was happening just felt right. The energy coming from the band was off the charts. They sounded good, they looked good, and people were having a good time. there weren't crazy moshpits throwing people around, and there weren't hardcore dancers in the back, but they didn't need it. I firmly believe that everyone who saw that show walked away feeling better than they had when they arrived. It was that kind of show. the kind that didn't need to employ any artificial means in order to get people into it. it just needed a few good friends, some fans, and the energy of five boys doing what they love.

As I was standing at the very front of the stage (as is customary for me), I realized that I was entirely captivated by this band and have been for over half of the time that I've known them (about a year and a half). I don't think that has happened with any other band I've ever been around. sure, I like bands as soon as I listen to them, and sure I really like listening to bands. but being entirely captivated? I think not. News From Verona quickly won over my heart. between the music and the personality of each of the guys in the band, I found myself doing everything that I could to get people into them weeks after I saw them for the first time. I still do that. I'm the self-proclaimed official unoffical numero uno when it comes to anything NfV related. before this year is up, I'll have (hopefully) gotten at least two more grades to begin really following these guys. They'll make it big. I'm sure of it. and even if they don't, I'll still love them.

peace.
kateschutte

Saturday, November 28, 2009

....but what?

I've decided to begin blogging for real this time. I'm not sure what about though... to be honest, I'm just trying to make a little money. I'm not even sure if it'll work, but I'm trying. I think that MySpace and Facebook and sites like that should start paying ME to continue to be a member. I'm not sure why they'd do that, but I think they should.I may make this a review sort of blog. y'know? I'll review new albums, books, concerts, bands, all that jazz. HEY! I could make this a NfV review blog. or just an NfV blog? I think that would work.

NfV = News From Verona, by the way. They're this amazing little band from Greenwood, Indiana. (about twenty minutes south of Monument Circle in Indianapolis, Indiana.)
I'd call them pop-punk christian, but that tends to deter people. they're not your typical "We love Jesus we want God to touch us, be in us, be with us" christan band who seemingly have a love interest in God... they're just five guys with a positive message that want kids to know that God IS there, and God is a huge part of their lives and he can be there for everyone if they'd let him. None of their Christian message interferes with their music though. it's just positive. about being good people, having fun, living life. I wouldn't know they were a Christian band at all, actually, if they didn't say halfway through their set "oh, by the way, we're Christian, come talk to us if you want to know more about what that means".
They've always been able to effectively let people know their beliefs without shoving it down their throats at all.
It's a great bunch of guys.
They've got a show on December 5, 2009 at The Gear: 41 W.Monroe St. Franklin, IN 46131 $10 to get in. They'll be playing with Seabird, The Holiday, and The Civil Wars. come check it out!

peace.
kateschutte